Welcome news hounds and news junkies alike as we delve into the world of journalism!

Journalism is the discipline of gathering, writing and reporting news, and broadly it includes the process of editing and presenting the news articles. Journalism applies to various media, but is not limited to newspapers, magazines, radio, and television.
In this site, you'll learn about:
a.) Feature Writing
b.) News Writing
c.) Editorial Writing
d.) Editorial Cartooning
e.) Sports Writing

Enjoy while learning.
The Journalist's Site is intended for you!
This is where you can learn what journalism is all about.
Continue surfing the page and at the left side is the articles archive where you could find more about campus journalism.

Friday, February 29, 2008

Editorial Cartooning

An editorial cartoonist, also known as a political cartoonist, is an artist who draws cartoons that contain some level of political or social commentary. The most common outlet for political cartoonists is the editorial page of the newspaper not the dedicated comic section, although certain cartoons have achieved crossover status.

Most editorial cartoons lack the type of explicitly partisan political opinion found on the rest of the editorial page, instead opting for humor that reflects the conventional wisdom of readers. Nevertheless, the presence of explicitly partisan, critical and satirical humor is growing in editorial cartoons as partisan opinion and argument continue to play a larger role in News Media as a whole.

In recent years the internet has become an excellent means for distributing short format media, humor, and minority political opinions, leading to a large growth in the popularity of online alternative editorial cartoons.

There is a Pulitzer Prize awarded every year for America's top editorial cartoonist — as decided by a panel of senior media industry professionals and media academics (see Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Cartooning). Other major awards given each year to editorial cartoonists include the Sigma Delta Chi Award from the Society of Professional Journalists, the Thomas Nast Award from the Overseas Press Club, and the Herblock Prize.

No comments: